Local News for Fort Hood, Killeen, Harker Heights, Copperas Cove, Temple & Nolanville

Scholarship Winners

Scholarship is an integral and deeply-rooted component of this organization. On May 7, 2017 in Killeen, Texas, the annual National Pan Hellenic Council Scholarship Awards Ceremony was held. The Basileus of Omicron Pi Chapter, Brother Willie Miller, along with the Scholarship Chairman, Brother Melvin Brown, and brothers from the chapter presented ten outstanding Central Texas area high school seniors $1,000 each during this event. The students were selected from six area high schools located in the cities of Copperas Cove, Killeen, Harker Heights and Temple. Selections were based on Grade Point Average (GPA), honors & awards, extra-curricular activities, and a written 700 word essay on, “Can Economic and Political Empowerment Lead to Social Change”.

The ten recipients and the college they plan on attending are: Loveless Gatewood -University of Texas at Austin, Texas; Tiffany Cavin- Stephen F. Austin State University; Tiara Cavin – University of Texas at Arlington, Texas; Tiara Kinnebrew – Texas A&M University; Emma Holt – Texas Tech; Madison Henry & Kristoff Crayton - University of Mary Hardin Baylor; Imari Neal – University of Texas at Austin, Texas; Kamyrn Mayberry – Midwestern State University of Texas State University; Brittany Harris – Texas State University or University of Texas at San Antonio